Permissions have to be assigned to group of users so, after creating a user, you have to assign it to at least one group.

Otherwise, the user will not be allowed to do anything into indyco Explorer.


If a user belongs to more than one group, than its resulting permission set will be the union of its groups' permissions:


Permission

Group 1

Group 2

Resulting Permission

View

N

Y

Y

Comment

N

N

N

Publish

Y

Y

Y



You can assign a default set of privileges to a group: they will be applied to every project.

In case you need to override it for specific projects, you can activate the "Override" and enable / disable permissions for that project.

Some permission can also be restricted to specific areas (see the permission glossary below).


Permission glossary

This is the full list of privileges you can assign to a group:

  • Administrator
  • Comment
  • CustomView
  • Publish Project
  • Commit Project
  • View


Administrator

A user that belongs to a group with administrator permission can manage users, groups, grant permissions and modify LDAP configuration.

This permission is not related to a specific project, so can't be overridden.


Comment

A user that belongs to a group with comment permission can add and remove comments on any level on indyco Explorer.

Comments are visible by all users.

This permission can be overridden locally (single project or single project area).


Custom View

A user that belongs to a group with custom view permission can create and remove custom views.

Custom views are available and visible to all indyco explorer users.

This permission can be overridden locally (single project).


View

A user that belong to a group with view permission can view the elements of the project.

This permission can be overridden locally (single project or single project area).



 

Publish Project

A user that belong to a group with publish permission can publish a project on indyco Explorer from indyco Builder.

This permission can be overridden locally (single project).



 

Commit Project

A user that belong to a group with commit permission can commit their changes to indyco Enterprise Server, from indyco Builder.

This permission can be overridden locally (single project).